Testimonials

What people are saying about Red Ensign

  • Testimonials

Testimonials from Trainees

Read some of the kind words offered by some of our trainees


Very in depth knowledge from the instructor, and also did more about tides, wind and drift than previous courses I have completed which I think is very specific to the training.

Steven Law , Stena Line
 Wed, 31st Oct 2018

Dear All, I seriously think that I should take the time to thank you all so much for the inspiring first aid course of Monday 03 September by JON. He totally nailed this course and captured every ones attention for the entire day, brilliantly delivered, informative with exactly the right amount of occasional added humour. Exacting, succinct and thoroughly enjoyable. Best course I have ever attended, without exaggerating; believe me over the years I have probably attended over 100 courses all over the planet on various subjects. Jon seems to have this very engaging quality. Fond regards, Cpt Paul Grant

Paul Grant , Hovertravel
 Tue, 4th Sep 2018

To everyone at Red Ensign, thank you all for your support throughout the past year! I have learnt a lot throughout the year and I want to thank you all for helping me through it. Best wishes

Ryan Fletcher
 Thu, 30th Aug 2018

Dear Sam, Jon, Jacob, Paul, Terry & all trainers at Red Ensign, just a few lines to say 'Thank you' all so much for your immense support and guidance during this whole week. I wasn't sure if I'd get through it but I did :) and it's thanks to all you guys!! I have a new chapter in my life that's about to start, so it is very exciting! Thank You, Thank You for helping me get past these hurdles (especially firefighting). It means so much and is much appreciated too. Kind regards  

Hilary Sullivan , Harding Retail
 Fri, 24th Aug 2018

Sam was so clear and helped me to improve my skills and knowledge. The best teacher I have studied with.

Ledion Hysenaj
 Sun, 8th Jul 2018

Growing up around boats I thought I already knew a lot, however I have just learnt lots in 2 days. Jacob was great!

Charlie Renwick
 Wed, 27th Jun 2018

Brilliant training week this week at Red Ensign, we had a wonderful group of people training together. Many Thanks to Cliff, Bill, Terry, Jan, and all the team of instructors there for their instructive and very professional courses, hope to return for my renewals and possibly more courses in the future! Keep up the great work guys!

Chris Dengate
 Fri, 22nd Jun 2018

Just completed my STCW refresher for the second time at Red Ensign. There’s not many courses that I have enjoyed but that was probably the first. The instructors were great and very interactive, kept the course interesting even when using PowerPoint. Another multi national classroom and all were fully engaged. I’ll see you in 5 years time for the next refresher.

James Cochlin
 Thu, 21st Jun 2018

Great training, teachers were good and friendly, the team was funny and professional, had a great time! I will also want to thank Marlena for the help that she gave me!

Radu Stoenescu
 Fri, 1st Jun 2018

I liked the pace and explanations before each exercise. It was excellent. No improvement needed. I had covered similar training previously which was inferior to this one. Well done!

Jane Markham-Bradley
 Mon, 21st May 2018

More informative than other training I have done. Practical exercises were great. I can't find fault with anything.

David Petch , CGG
 Mon, 14th May 2018

The trainer Jon keeps motivating to fight against fear of fire. Makes us much more stronger and confident. It was an amazing experience!

Anju Devi , Steiner Academy
 Wed, 28th Mar 2018

Bill was 10/10 to the point, didn't ramble and made the Crisis course interesting.

Sara Higginson
 Sun, 25th Mar 2018

I do recommend this excellent team! Everyone in the team is really prepared for any eventuality and supports those who are in difficulty. Good organisation comes also from those work in the office and who allows that everything goes smoothly. I met Marlena, an extremely kind woman, who supported me from arrival to departure. Thank you Marlena and who made everything possible.

Olga Caserta
 Wed, 28th Feb 2018

I just wanted to thank everyone concerned at Red Ensign for putting on the AEC last week.  It was a great course which I thoroughly enjoyed - I learned  huge amount. The course was very well organised and the teaching was superb from Ray (ably assisted by Sam). Ray is unquestionably the best teacher I have had in any subject.

Mark Boardman
 Tue, 20th Feb 2018

Jacob was super knowledgeable and we had heaps of fun. The practical work on the water was awesome.

Katie Thompson
 Thu, 8th Feb 2018

The GMDSS course was well structured and delivered. Ian top guy and teacher! Helped throughout.

Travis Darrington , SERCO
 Tue, 30th Jan 2018

2 days of firefighting here at Red Ensign. Everyone was great. Sam and Jon thank you for the laughs in class and Marlena in the office thank you for your assistance!

Claire Primrose
 Fri, 26th Jan 2018

Love all the trainers, they are incredibly awesome! The course is amazing, and now I feel really prepared to what can happen on the ship! Thanks for all!

Vania Ferreira
 Fri, 19th Jan 2018

It was very informative and now I have full understanding of my basic rope work and Adam was very helpful.

Riess Ballard
 Fri, 15th Dec 2017

Very direct, all information was relevant and delivered in a way that invited discussion and made it easy to obtain new skills and knowledge. A great course! (STCW Efficient Deckhand course)

Chris West
 Thu, 7th Dec 2017

Very thorough and engaging, practical really well delivered and I felt in very safe hands. Fire fighting a fab experience!

Holly Nolan
 Tue, 7th Nov 2017

I loved the training and enjoyed it. Overcome my fear. Confidence boost up. Good team. Thank you!

Luviksha Appigadoo
 Tue, 3rd Oct 2017

The training was extremely informative. Learned so much from this course and feel much more confident if I needed to apply any of the methods of first aid.

Leearne Brunt
 Mon, 18th Sep 2017

A big thank you to Red Ensign for a rewarding year and an excellent training programme (Deckhand apprenticeship) ! All the instructors had a brilliant approach! Everyone was very supportive, energising, engaging and team focused, and at the same time I received some very professional training and help! I feel I have become more confident and developed a professional approach to my studies and life! Red Ensign provided various trainings in suitable premises, such as Sea Trident (training ship), a simulator room (classroom) and lots of fun in the river Medina (sea survival, rescue boat, and life boat training!)  Besides an amazing approach from the instructors, I had some excellent help from the management too! I would definitely recommend Red Ensign as a training facility ! For me it was perfect from top to bottom!  Thank you!

Jana Zinevica , Red Funnel
 Fri, 11th Aug 2017

We found the Theory of Fire and Fire Prevention course very informative and most enjoyable. The Staff at Red Ensign were professional and knowledgeable as well as friendly. We would highly recommend Red Ensign for this course and we will use again.

Mark Osborne , Teleplan International
 Thu, 21st Sep 2017

Thank you for making my time at Red Ensign so enjoyable and memorable for all the right reasons! It's been good fun and that's all thanks to you guys! You're the best! :)

Rachel Lasham
 Tue, 8th Aug 2017

Very professional well run course. Material presented in a friendly environment.

Craig Henshaw-Allcock , BAE Systems
 Tue, 25th Jul 2017

Would recommend! Friendly, helpful & interesting.

Samantha Payne , BAE Systems
 Tue, 25th Jul 2017

Jon is an amazing teacher, he explained everything through examples and we all got great and useful information. Everything was perfect! Thank you guys!

Nikola Miladinovic , Steiner Academy
 Mon, 10th Jul 2017

'Amazing experience, loved it, made you feel completely comfortable with the whole training.'

Richard Sutton
 Fri, 30th Jun 2017

'Just completed one week on Sea Survival in Red Ensign. Really enjoyed it; quality training, very realistic, professional trainers, very approachable. It changed my life. Thank you for everything, it has been a honour and a pleasure.'

Liliana Culda , Steiner Academy
 Fri, 23rd Jun 2017

'Today's course was superb... and I have done countless first aid courses. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable delivery - ideally pitched to this audience - particularly for non-native English speakers - very well! Ian deserves a big pat on the back.'

Clive Blount
 Mon, 12th Jun 2017

'My sincere thanks for a well run course which was very well delivered. I have done many of these courses along with three Advanced Fire Fighting courses with at least one run by serving fire fighters who admittedly gave a really full-on fire scenario but none delivered with such a clear and concise manner. So well done to all the team and thanks to Cliff!'

Paul Kennedy
 Tue, 30th May 2017

'Incredibly professional and friendly professional setup. Best place for STCW refresher courses, Cliff our fire fighting instructor was brilliant and the assistant instructors great too. Well organised and the accommodation and food on Sea Trident next door, perfect. Highly recommended. Thanks!'

Christina Bridge
 Fri, 5th May 2017

'Had the best weekend of training, from fires to the water, it has been a blast and I cannot thank the team enough for being so efficient, professional yet the most welcoming! Definitely a great experience! X'

Natalie-Ann Morgan
 Fri, 5th May 2017

 'You are such a wonderful team. I am so happy I chose Red Ensign and will be sure to come back to you if I am required to do any other courses in the future. I can't thank you enough.'

Kate Brooks
 Tue, 2nd May 2017

‘Loved every minute of my course at Red Ensign, it's made so enjoyable by all the instructors and I definitely learned skills that I will have forever’

Deirdre Flannery , Harding Retail
 Fri, 28th Apr 2017

‘An outstanding outfit. The organisation and pre-arrival info is spot on. The staff are what make this place. The backroom staff are superb. The instructors are professional, friendly, knowledgeable and so, so cool under ‘fire’. I was on the STCW course and the pace was perfect, the environment was just what you would expect from the material. The lectures are planned so that there is a lot of interaction, which is what you need to avoid the after lunch ‘nod-off’ which can creep in. The practical sessions were extremely well run and other staff members became involved so that you never felt under-supported, and although it was adventurous and challenging, you never felt as though things were out of hand. Loads of laughs, and lots of learning. I think I actually learnt more than the syllabus, mainly through the other candidates, who were from such different backgrounds. I cannot recommend Red Ensign highly enough. Whatever course you are doing, I would expect a very high standard of teaching and an extremely enjoyable and informative experience. Absolutely superb!’

David Monk
 Mon, 17th Apr 2017

‘I have had the best week considering I was dreading it. You have all put me at ease and made this experience really enjoyable! Thank you so much for everything!’

Claire Beverley
 Mon, 17th Apr 2017

‘Thumbs up, everything was great!!! Great teaching by Ray, kept everyone up to speed. One of the best courses I’ve done! Look forward to doing more courses with Red Ensign.’

George Ene , Njord Offshore
 Wed, 12th Apr 2017

'Excellent people! They love what they do and they share it with you! I cannot wait to go back again! Cheers!!'

Alejo Siri
 Wed, 22nd Mar 2017

‘Best course on this subject – Fire Fighting – in 37 years at sea!’

Miles Forman
 Fri, 3rd Mar 2017

'Really felt I had good value for my money. I didn’t feel at all intimidated at my lack of knowledge and was delighted to have come away wanting to learn more. Thank you!!'

Wendy Barton
 Wed, 1st Mar 2017

‘Thanks to Ian, Cliff, Andy, Jon. Those people become more then your instructors , become your friends. Had a great time here and hope to come back soon!’

Raul Pagidean , Gardline
 Fri, 27th Jan 2017

‘Send my love to Monica, something somewhere came into my mind when 12 foot down! If it wasn’t for the training received I would be dead. Something clicked in the brain, don’t know if it was first aid with Monica or sea survival with Andy.’

Wayne Spurge
 Tue, 24th Jan 2017

‘We have nothing but praise for Red Ensign Training from first contact to receiving qualifying certificates. We are particularly gratified my 20 year-old grandson had a great time but the boost to his confidence has only been superseded by the boost to his enthusiasm for a life on the water. So many thanks to all concerned!’

Bev Wyman
 Fri, 20th Jan 2017

‘Absolutely amazing course, great instructors and amazing life lessons learnt. Would 100% recommend. No matter how big your fear these guys will get you through. Will be back in the future for more! On a personal note, massive thanks to Ian and Cliff for all the support you gave me.’

Philippa Sherrell
 Fri, 13th Jan 2017

‘I recently completed my STCW advanced refreshers, the week before Christmas. I just wanted to drop you an email to say thank you for the course. To be honest, after 20 years at sea I didn’t have high hopes that the course wouldn’t be anything other than a money making exercise but on completion I must admit I found the course to be highly beneficial in refreshing my memory and hands on training, something that is harder to do in a senior role on board. I especially enjoyed the advanced fire fighting and having a ship to do it on is a major factor in making the course realistic. So much better than sitting in a classroom! I will be recommending red ensign to colleagues for this particular reason. So thank you for changing my opinion of compulsory training. Please pass on my thanks to the instructors that week. Keep up the good work!’

Matt Ledingham
 Sun, 8th Jan 2017

'Absolutely amazing! Loved every second of my training with Red Ensign. Excellent training, facilities and teachers.'

Amy Mitchell
 Fri, 23rd Dec 2016

'Completed my apprenticeship as of today. I loved every bit of it!! Everyone was very helpful and went above and beyond to make sure I understood. Massive thanks to All the team at Red Ensign. All the best for the new year!'

William Smailes
 Mon, 12th Dec 2016

‘The Red Ensign team are the best! I returned to do my refresher training in STCW. I had the most fun week with some great instructors who are really supportive and really fun!! A great experience and opportunity to meet some lovely people Thank you’

Georgia Baker
 Fri, 2nd Dec 2016

‘Did refresher course from the 5/12/16 to the 8/12/16, was a really good course I enjoyed it and the instructors made you feel at ease which was nice 10/10 for guys!'

Russel Spencer
 Fri, 9th Dec 2016

‘Ray was a great instructor! Very easy to talk to/ask questions. The facilities were excellent along with all the engine components that we had to work with, made things very simple.’

James Hartley
 Fri, 28th Oct 2016